๐ŸŒธ DIY Scented Candle ๐ŸŒธ

image_6483441I’ve been wanting to do this for SO long! I started with just two to see how they turned out, and now I want to make a hundred! I’m going to use these as gifts, for myself, and any other occasion I can think of!! They are so much fun to make, a little messy, but fun nonetheless. I hope you enjoy making these as much as I did!

Obviously these are not at all perfect (it was my first time, give me a break) but now I can let you guys know what the mistakes I made were so when you try, yours actually can be perfect!

Things you’ll need:

  • 2lbs of soy (or any kind) of wax flakes
  • pre-waxed wicks
  • glass containers (jars, etc.)
  • crayons
  • scented wax melts
  • 2 cup microwavable measuring cup
  • wooden spoon

Use a microwave to melt together the wax flakes, your choice of crayon, and scented wax melts in your measuring cup. While this is melting get your wick ready by wrapping the end around your wooden spoon. The metal part at the bottom of your wick should be touching the bottom of the jar. If needed, stick it to the bottom with tape or some other sticky substance (I didn’t do this but it would have made it much easier to keep the wick in place). Set the spoon across the top of your jar with the bottom of the wick attached to/touching the bottom of the jar.

Your cup will be VERY HOT when you take it out of the microwave, soy wax melts at about 130 degrees F, so make sure you have something to hold it with (i.e. oven mitts, etc.). Next, pour your coloured wax mixture into your jar, I did layers so I poured only a bit in at a time, changing the colour each time. If you choose to do layers as well, MAKE SURE YOU LET IT DRY COMPLETELY BEFORE POURING THE NEXT COLOUR/LAYER IN. I got too excited a couple of times and poured my next colour in before it was completely dry so I had a couple of extra thick mixed layers, but oh well, now I know for next time.

image_6483441 (1)

Make sure your wick stays in the centre of your wax ย with your wooden spoon and then just be patient let it dry. And voila! You have just created your very own scented candle! Yay!

Let me know how yours turn out! Will you give yours as a gift or keep it for yourself? If you enjoyed making, this comment other things you have always wanted to DIY and I’ll make a post about it!

Also, if you have any questions about the directions, or ingredients just leave it in the comments and I’ll get back to ya!

later y’all,
sacha

4 thoughts on “๐ŸŒธ DIY Scented Candle ๐ŸŒธ

Leave a Reply

