Peanut Butter Pie: IN A JAR

It was my sisters birthday last week and I made her a peanut butter pie in a jar! This recipe was from a Buzzfeed Tasty video and it looked so cute & yummy I had to try it out!

(I was pressed for time to make these so I asked my bf to pick up the ingredients on his way home from work…so many regrets. I gave him a detailed list with product brand names and quantities so I thought he would be fine, but no. You’ll see when we get to the ingredient list next).

It’s a pretty simple (NO BAKING) recipe, the ingredients include:

  • 1 cup powdered sugar (my bf bought icing sugar so I used that and it still tasted good so it works too)
  • 8oz cream cheese
  • 1 cup peanut butter (I used natural bc that’s what my bf bought, but I recommend smooth)
  • 8oz cool whip
  • Graham crackers
  • Chocolate syrup
  • Sprinkles
  • 2 glass jars (I used small to medium sized mason jars  with cute chalkboard paint on them for the label.

 

pb pie1
So, I started with the pb filling first. Mix together the sugar, peanut butter, cream cheese and cool whip (save about 3/4 of the cool whip for the extra layers). I tried to use my roommates hand mixer but it was missing the ‘low’ setting so it was kind of a disaster so I ended up just mixing it by hand which worked perfectly as well! Blend together until you get a smooth, creamy peanut butter delight.

pb pie 2

Now onto the graham crackers. Crumble as many crackers into the bottom of the jar as you would like, depending on how big you want your ‘crust’ to be. Mine was around an inch thick. Once you get the graham crackers in the bottom, it’s time to add your layers in! I started with some chocolate syrup on top of the crackers and then added the pb filling, then a layer of cool whip, a bit more pb, some more chocolate syrup, and cool whip to top it off. Then I added a little chocolate syrup and placed the sprinkles on top! I made two jars so I mixed the layers up a bit in both! Layer to your liking!

pb pie 4

     pb pie 34

I made these the night before her birthday so I put them in the freezer overnight. I had extra as well so  made this little guy (below) for whoever wanted to try it at my house and kept it in the fridge, so you can store it either way!

pb pie 5

Let me know how yours turn out in the comments below!

bon appétit!
sacha

 

Leave a Reply

